Effectie Jpeil 20,2006

MINRNESOQGTA

DEPARTMENT oF HEALTH
Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

April 19, 2006

Ms. Carreen Caughlan Pederson

RE: MDH File Number AUA-060028

Dear Ms. Caughlan Pederson:

I have determined that future audiologist license renewals or applications will be denied. Based
on my review of the facts and law in this matter, I have determined that you failed to respond to a
written request from the depariment within 30 days, as required by Minnesota Statutes, section

. 148.5195, subdivision 3(2) and failed to pay the required surcharge fee as required by Minnesota
Statutes, section 148.5194, subdivision 7. This is a ground for denying renewal of your license,
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 4(1).

This decision will be made final and effective 30 days from the date it is received by you. You
have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing provided under Minnesota
Statutes, Chapter 14. A request for a hearing must be made in writing and include specific
grounds for challenging the department’s decision. If you wish to request a hearing, please send,
deliver, or fax a written hearing request, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Susan Winkelmann, Investigations and Enforcement Manager
Minnesota Department of Health

85 East Seventh Place, Suite 300

PO Box 64882

Satnt Paul, MN 55164-0882

Fax: 651/201-3839 '

If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Susan Winkelmann at 651/201-3722.

Sincerely,

Fal
David J. Giese, Director
Division of Compliance Monitoring

cc: Tom Hiendimayr, Director of the Health Occupations Program
Susan Winkelmann, Manager, Investigations and Enforcement Unit

Qeral Information: (651) 201-5000 ® TDD/TTY: (651} 201-5797 ® Minnesota Relay Service: (800) 627-3529 B www.health.state.mn us

For disections to any of the MDH locations, call (651) 201-5000 ® An equal opportunity employer




HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
Carreen Caughlan Pederson
Audiologist

AUTHORITY

Effective August 1, 2003, Minnesota Statutes, section 148.513, subdivision 1, required a
person to be licensed as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes, sections 148.511 to 148.5198, in order to engage in practice.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.51935, subdivision 3(2), failure to respond
within 30 days to a written request from the department sent via certified mail, is a
ground for disciplinary action.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5194, subdivision 7, effective November 1,
2005, all audiologists are required to pay a prorated surcharge fee.-

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5195, subdivision 4(1), authorizes the
Commissioner of Health to refuse to grant or renew licensure if there is a violation of one
of the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.511, et. seq.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Carreen Caughlan Pederson (hereinafter “Practitioner”) was first registered as an
Audiologist on February 12, 1997. Practitioner renewed her registration/license every
year. Her license expired on January 31, 2006.

By letter dated August 29, 2005, Credentialing staff notified Practitioner that she was
required to remit a prorated surcharge fee in the amount of $29 by November 1, 2005, and
that failure to pay the surcharge fee might result in the suspension of her license.

By letter dated November 18, 2005, Credentialing staff notified Practitioner the surcharge
fee, which was due by November 1, 2005, had not been received. Practitioner was
provided with a copy of the August 29, 2005, letter, asked to remit the surcharge fee by

' December 17, 2005, and informed that failure to do so would result in the suspension of
her license.

By letter dated December 21, 2005, Credentialing staff notified Practitioner the surcharge
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fee, due November 1, 2005, had not yet been received. Copies of the August 29™ and
November 18%, letters were enclosed, and Practitioner was asked to submit the required
surcharge fee by January 23, 2006. Practitioner was notified that failure to do so would
result in discipline, “including additional penaities and or condition, suspension or
revocation of your license to practice Audiology in Minnesota.” [sic] This letter was sent
to Practitioner via certified mail, receipt number 7000 1670 0005 7582 5305, and
Practitioner signed for it on December 24, 2005. On February 13, 2006, the Department
received a Notification of Intention NOT to Renew from Practitioner. To date, the
Practitioner has not paid the $29.00 prorated surcharge fee.

CONCLUSION
Practitioner failed to respond within 30 days to a written request from the department sent via
certified mail, and failed to pay the required surcharge fee pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
sections 148.5195, subdivision 3(2) and 148.5194, subdivision 7, which are grounds for
disciplinary action.
DETERMINATION

Practitioner’s Audiologist future license renewal or application will be denied until such time as she
submits payment of the required prorated surcharge fee of $29.00.

Page 2 of 2






