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BEFORE THE MINNESOTA
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
In the matter of Thomas Champeon, Stipulation and Consent Order

Lapsed Hearing Instrument Dispenser

IT IS HEREBY STIPULATED AND AGREED by Thomas Champon, (hereinafter “Practitioner™),
and the Minnesota Department of Health, (hereinafter “Department”), that without trial or

adjudication of any issue of fact or law herein:
LEGAL AUTHORITY

1. The Depariment has statutory authority to discipline hearing instrument dispensers under
Minnesota Statutes, section 153A.15. The types of disciplinary action the Department may impose
include public reprimands, suspension, revocation, dental of a certificate renewal, revocation or
suspension of the right to supervise trainees, the assessment of civil penalties not to exceed $10,000
for each separate violation, or any other action reasonably justified by the individual case. Pursuant
to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data. '

2. Minnesotalaw provides that it is unlawful for any'pcrson not holding a valid certificate issued by
the Commissioner of Health to dispense a hearing instrument. See Minn. Stat. § 153A.14; subd. 4

(2002).

3. Minn. Stat. § 153A.13, subd. 5 defines a dispenser of hearing instruments as a “natural person
who engages in hearing instrument dispensing whether or not certified by the commissioner of health
or licensed by an existing health-related board...A person who offers to dispense a hearing
instrument, or a person who advertises, holds out to the public, or otherwise represents that the
person is authorized to dispense hearing instruments must be certified by the commissioner.”

4. Minnesota law further provides that: “No person shall sell a hearing aid in this state unless: (a)
The dispenser provides the buyer with a 30-day written money back guarantee. The guarantee must
permit the buyer to cancel the purchase for any reason within 30 days after receiving the hearing aid
by giving or making wrilten notice of cancellation to the dispenser. If the hearing aid must be
repaired, remade, or adjusted during the 30-day money-back guarantee peried, the running of the 30-
day period is suspended one day for each 24-hour period that the hearing aid is not in the buyer’s
possession.” See Minn. Stat. § 153A.19, subd. 2 (2002).

5. Minnesota law provides that: “owners of entities in the business of dispensing hearing
instruments, employers of persons who dispense hearing instruments, supervisors of trainees, and
hearing instrument dispensers conducting the sales transaction at issue are liable for satisfying all
terms of the contracts, oral or wntten, made by their agents, employees, assigns, affiliates, or
trainees, including terms relating to products, repairs, warranties, service and refunds.” See Minn.

Stat. § 153A.14, subd. 10 (2002).




6. Minn. Stat. § 153A.14, subd. 6 (2002) requires hearing instruments tc be dispensed in
compliance with the requirements of the United States Food and Drug Administration, Federal
regulations require a hearing aid dispenser to advise prospective hearing aid users to “consult
promptly with a licensed physician,...before dispensing a hearing aid if the hearing aid dispenser
determines. .. that the prospective user has ...acute or chronic dizziness.” 21 C.F.R. § 801.420(¢)

(2).

7. Minn, Stat. § 153A.15, subd. 1(8) (2002) prohibits hearing aid dispensers from engaging in
conduct likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public; or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard

for the health, welfare, or safety of a consumer.

8. Minn. Stat. § 153A.19, subd. 2(b){(2002) requires that buyers of hearing aids be given a specific
cancellation notice, notifying the buyer that the buyer has 30 days to cancel the purchase and the
buyer will receive a specified refund amount. The statute requires the notice shall “state the dollar

amount of refund.”

9. Minn. Stat. § 153A.15, subd. 1(24)(2002) prohibits a dispenser of hearing instruments from
aiding and abetting another person in violating any of the provisions of §§ 153A.13 to 153A.19.

10. Minn. Stat. § 153A.14, subd. 11 (2002} requires dispensers to notify the Commissioner in
writing within 30 days of the occurrence of any of the following: (1} a change of address, home or
business telephone, or business name; (2) the occurrence of conduct prohibited by § 153A.15; (3)a
settlement, conciliation court judgment or award based on negligence, intentional acts, or contractual

violations committed in the dispensing of hearing instruments by the dispenser; and (4) the cessation

of hearing instrument dispensing activities as an individual or business.

11, Minn. Stat. § 153A.15, subd. 1(15){2002) requires hearing instrument dispensers to provide
information in a timely manner in response to a request by the Commissioner, the Commissioner’s
designee, or the advisory council. Minn. Stat. § 153A.15, subd. 1(17) (2002) requires dispensers to

cooperate with investigations.
BACKGROUND

For purposes of these disciplinary proceedings, the Department alleges and believes it can prove the
following allegations:

1. Practitioner owned and, until sometime in April 2002, operated American Audiology Hearing
Clinic (hereinafter “AAHC”), a company that dispensed Corctex brand hearing instruments,
sometimes labeled as Lawford hearing instruments. Practitioner also was the President of Sound
Advice Hearing Center, Inc., which did business as Coretex Electronics Corporation, the
manufacturer of Coretex brand hearing instruments.

2. Practitioner was the subject of two disciplinary actions by the Department; one effective June 24,
1998 for having used a protected title “A™ in 1996 without being registered as an Audiologist with
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the Department and another effective March 2, 1999 for having used the protected title, “A” after
Practitioners audiologist registration expired and for also not disclosing the existence of the 1998
enforcement action on his audiologist renewal application in violation of Minn. Stat. § 148.5195,

subd. 3 (1) (1998).

3. Practitioner first obtained a hearing instrument dispenser trainee authorization on May 9, 1995,
which expired on May 31, 1996. The Department issued Practitioner a hearing instrument dispenser
certification on May 3, 1996. Practitioner renewed his hearing instrument dispenser certification in
1996, 1997, 1998 and 1999. The application process involved completing an application, including a
continuing education form, and paying the correct fee.

4. Practitioner failed to submil & renewal application prior to the expiration of his certification on
October 31, 2000.

5. After the Department sent out several reminder letters, it received a certification renewal
application from Practitioner on May 29, 2001, which was dated May 25, 2001, but to date,
Practitioner had not provided complete responses to all of the questions.

6. In response to Question 1 on the certification renewal application, which asked whether
Practitioner had ever dispensed hearing instruments in Minnesota without a certification, Practitioner
answered “no”. In fact, Practitiones had dispensed two hearing instruments to W.H. on April 12,
2001, and charged W. H. $5,330.25 for these instruments.

7. Practitioner dispensed 47 hearing instruments to 26 consumers from April to July 2001 as listed
below. Practitioner signed those purchase agreements using the Minnesota certification number
“6203.” That certification number was invalid after Practitioner’s certification expired on October

31, 2000.




Date Sold To whom No. Aids Total Purchase
a. Aprl 12,2001 W.H. 2 $5,330.25
b. June 12, 2001 L.B. 2 $3,990.00
c. July 23, 2001 H.A. 2 $4,263.00
d. July 23, 2001 MLL. 2 $2,527.35
e. July 24, 2001 1.0 2 $3,552.00
f. July 24, 2001 P.D. 2 $2,486.75
[ July 24, 2001 C.M. 2 $4,861.85
h. July 24, 2001 RE. 1 $2,532.43
i. July 24, 2001 W.T. 1 $3,146.50
i July 235, 2001 D.p. 2 $4.049.85
k. July 25, 2001 N.A. 2 $6,242.25
1 July 25, 2001 H.S. 1 $2,030.00
m. July 25, 2001 C.J. 2 $4,049.85
n. Tuly 25, 2001 MT. 2 $5,785.50
0. July 26, 2001 R.C. 2 $6,242.25
[+ July 26, 2001 DH. 2 $2,527.35
Q. July 26, 2001 BB. 2 $4,861.85
I. July 27, 2001 LB. 2 $5,176.50
s. Juty 27, 2001 M.F. 2 $1,722.50
t. July 27, 2001 V.B. 2 $1,649.38
u. July 27, 2001 V.S. | $2,385.25
v. July 27, 2001 MM. 2 $6,242.25
w. July 27, 2001 E.A. 1 $1,370.25
X. July 27, 2001 H.P. 2 $4,861.85
y. July 28, 2001 EN. 2 $6,242.25
z. July 28, 2001 M.S. 2 $4,861.85

TOTAL

$102,991.11

8. Four consumers, D.E., EH., V.B., and F.Z., purchased hearing instruments from AAHC during
1999, 2001 and 2002 and were improperly denied requested refunds for their hearing instruments as
follows: D.E. purchased two hearing instruments from Practitioner on August 20, 1999. One of the
hearing instruments quit working the day after she received it, and the other hearing aid caused her
ear pain. D.E. made numerous requests for refunds, but Practitioner refused to refund her money
until after the Department contacted Practitioner several times about the consumer’s complaint. EH.
purchased Coretex brand hearing instruments from AAHC on August 28, 2001 and requested a
refund because the hearing instruments hurt E.H.s ears even after three adjustments. The manager
agreed to a full refund, but then failed to refund the complete purchase price. V.B. and F.Z. both
returned their hearing aids to AAHC and requested a refund within the 30-day period allowed on
their contracts, but neither received a refund.




9. Fiveconsumers, A.D., T.T., D.E., V.M. and D.P. entered into purchase agreements to buy hearing
aids from the Practitioner. Those purchase agreements notified the consumers they could cancel the
agreement within 30 days of receipt of the hearing aid and the amount of “full price minus 10%”
would be refunded to the purchaser. In the sale to T.A., Practitioner calculated the refund using the
purchase price of $4880 when the actual amount of the purchase after computing discounts was

$4,392.

10. On January 16, 2002, F.Z. was asked to sign a “delivery checklist” and on March 13, 2002, F.Z.
was asked to sign a “hearing aid return form.” Both forms were provided by staff at AAHC, and
included a signature line for a representative of AAHC, titled “audiologist/hearing specialist.” In
both cases the employee who signed on behalf of the AAHC was not an audiologist.

11. Prior to dispensing D.E. hearing instruments on August 20, 1999, Practitioner obtained health
information about D.E. indicating that she had experienced “sudden or long term dizziness.”
Practitioner did not refer D.E. to a licensed physician for follow up.

12. M.S. purchased two hearing instruments from AAHC in October 2001 for $3,900. When MLS.
expressed concems about the price of the hearing instruments, she felt pressured into buying them by

a factory representative who was present during the sale and who said “What's your problem, don't
you want to hear hetter?” The factory representative told M.S. he had to leave town that evening and

that he would reduce the price of the hearing aids if she purchased at that time.

13. E.F. purchased two Coretex brand hearing instruments from AAHC on November 8, 2001. He
received a warranty on the hearing instruments. One hearing aid stopped working on June 1, 2602.
E.F. was told by a former employee of AAHC that the company was not honoring warranties and that
it would cost $95 to have the hearing aid repaired.

I14. All consumers of AAHC who purchased hearing instruments have a lifetime service agreement
from AAHC and most consumers have warranties of one, two or three years from AAHC. Since
AAHC cloged its business sometime in April 2002, AAHC consumers have been unable to contact

AAHC to have their hearing instruments serviced.

15. Consumers D.E., T.A. and A.D. filed complaints with the Department about hearing aids they
purchased from Practitioner. The Department notified Practitioner of those complaints in February
2000 and asked Practitioner about his business practices related to those complaints. Practitioner
responded to the Department in March 2000, and although he did respond to the question of whether
he had refunded the consumers’ money, he failed to answer the Department’s questions about his
business practices. On August 9 and October 24, 2000, the Department sent Practitioner letters
asking him to respond to the questions posed in the February 2000 letters. Practitioner did not

respond to these letters,

16. On July 30, 2002, the Competency Review Committee (CRC) of the Hearing Instrument
Dispenser Advisory Council met to review consumer complaints against Practitioner. The CRC

members concluded the following:




a. D.C. purchased two “completely in the canal” or “CIC” hearing aids from Practitioner in
1998 when he worked for Beltone. On the intake form, D.C. disclosed that she had had mastoid
surgery. The CRC concluded that Practitioner should have asked follow up questions about the
mastoid surgery and gotten an Ear, Nose and Throat physician’s approval before fitting the aids.
Mastoid surgery is done to control middle ear infections and CIC aids could be a risky fit because
they restrict airflow in ears and that increases risks for ear infections. The CRC also noted that
Practitioner did not document what he told D.C. nor what conversations he had with her about the

mastoid surgery.

b. A.D. purchased two CIC aids {rom Practitioner at AAHC in 1999. At the time of sale in
December, A.D. told Practitioner she was going to undergo chemotherapy in January and February.
She felt high pressured into the sale. The CRC concluded that practitioner appropriately fit the CIC
aids, but there was no documentation to show that Practitioner advised A.D. about the effects of
chemotherapy on hearing. Chemotherapy can cause hearing loss of up to six months after treatment
and this information should be communicated to the client.

c. A.S. purchased one CIC aid for his left ear and Practitioner recommended A.S. have his
right Starkey hearing aid rebuilt into a “petite inner ear unit.” Practitioner told A.S. that since
Practitioner was remaking A.S.” old aid, it was not subject to the 30 day trial period. The CRC
concluded Practitioner was deceptive in characterizing the rebuilding of A.S.” “In the Ear” or “ITE”
aid into a CIC when Practitioner’s own documentation shows that the circnits were totally different
and the ITE aid was a 1989 aid which could not be converted to a CIC aid.

d. E.T. purchased two aids on October 1, 1997 from Practitioner when he worked for
Beltone. Practitioner had ET. sign a “Request for Amplification” stating the client had been
informed that her “hearing thresholds fall in a range that is usually not considered for amplification
[and that she is} experiencing difficulty with communication and [she] is requesting to be fit with
amplification”. The CRC concluded that Practitioner should not have fit the aids at all and having a
consumer sign a “Request for Ampiification™ is inappropriate. Practitioner should have referred E.T.
to a specialist to determine whether there was an auditory processing disorder and Practitioner should
have recognized this as a possible problem by the results of the audiogram he took.

17. Practitioner closed AAHC April 1, 2002,

18. Practitioner failed to inform the Department that AAHC had changed its address, changed its
telephone number, or that AAHC had gone out of business.

ORDER

1. Upon this Stipulation, and without any further notice of proceedings, the Division Director hereby
ORDERS: :




a. Practitioner will refund the amount of $4,203.1010 V.B.,, $1,738.50to S.P.; and $5,115.60
to F.Z. within 30 days of the effective date of this Stipulation.

b. Within 14 days of the effective date of this Stipulation, Practitioner will submit a list of all
AAHC consumers (names, addresses and telephone numbers) to the Department and indicate who
has pending Coretex Lifelong Service Plans, Full Warranty, Loss, Stolen & Damage User Protection
and/or Hearing Loss Protections (*warranty plans™) and include how many years/months/weeks/days
are left for each protection plan, including the delivery date of the hearing aids. Practitioner will
reimburse warranty expenses that occur during the term of the full warranty, Loss, Stolen & Damage
User Protection and/or Hearing Loss Protections. All AAHC consumers with warranty plans that
expired between the date AAHC closed on April 1, 2002, and the effective date of the stipulation
will have 60 days from the date of the letter referenced below to submit any warranty claims to
Practitioner. Practitioner will also reimburse AAHC consumers who have only the Lifelong Service'
Plan still in effect at the effective date of this stipulation. Such consumers may submit any claims
they incurred by having their hearing aids adjusted or serviced which would have been covered by
Practitioner under the Lifelong Service Plan. Such claims may be submitted for six months
following the effective date of this stipulation.

¢. Practitioner will set aside sufficient funds to reimburse consumers who get their hearing
aids serviced and/or repaired by another hearing aid repair/service center within their AAHC
warranty plan. Consumers will be notified they may send copies of their service and/or repair
receipt, as well as any warranties issued by hearing aid service/repair center, to the Department,
addressed to Ms, Terri Vose, Health Care Program Investigator, Minnesota Department of Health,
P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-09735. The Department will then submit these receipts and
warranties to the Practiticner who must reimburse each consumer within 14 days of receiving the
receipt and warranty. Effective service on the Practiticner will be satisfied by sending the reccipts to
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Practitionér’s last known address and/or Practitioner’s andiney.

d. Within 21 days of the effective date of this stipulation, Practitioner will send a letter to all
of his AAHC consumers informing them they can be reimbursed for any warranty expenses which
would have been covered by AAHC that were incurred after AAHC closed if they submit their
receipts to the Department and follow the procedure laid out in this stipulation. This letter must be
pre-approved by the Department. AAHC consumers with only the Lifelong Service Plan will also be
notified, in a letter sent within 21 days of the effective date of this stipulation, how they may obtain
service in the future for the hearing aids purchased from Practitioner. This letter also must be pre-

approved by the Department.

e. Within three days of complying with letter (d) above, Practitioner will provide the
Department with a copy of the letter mailed plus a list of the names and mailing addresses of

consumers who were sent the letter.

f. Practitioner is responsible for providing the Department with his current home and
business mailing address(es) and telephone number(s) while warranties described above are
outstanding. Practitioner has seven (7) days from any change of home and/or business address to
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inform the Department in writing of his new information. Practitioner may either mail the
information at the address in paragraph lc above or fax the change to Ms. Terri Vose at (651) 282-

5628.

g. Practitioner will pay the State of Minnesota $10,167, which represents the costs of
investigation in this matter, including the costs associated with the CRC review, by paying $7,625.25
by June 30, 2003 and $2,541.75 by January 1, 2004. Each certified check must be made payable to
“State of Minnesota, Treasurer” and mailed to the address in paragraph 1c above.

h. Practitioner will not seek renewal of his hearing instrument dispenser certification until
two years after the effective date of this stipulation. If Practitioner secks to renew his certification,
he must retake the hearing instrument dispenser examination as is required for persons who lapse for
two years or more, submit a complete renewal application and fees and comply with the then current
gualifications required for certification renewal in Minnesota. At the time of any renewal application
review, Practitioner understands the Department will address the issues presented by the CRC in its
review of Practitioner’s competency in the matters described in paragraph 16 above.

i. Practitioner must cooperate with the Department fully in its responsibility to monitor the
terms of the stipulation. Cooperation includes answering the Department in the time requested and
responding fully and completely. If the Department receives information that Practitioner has
violated the terms of the stipulation or has made misrepresentations to the Department, the
Department will notify Practitioner in writing at his last known address and Practitioner shall have
the opportunity to respond to the allegations. The Department may consider revocation of
Practitioner’s certification if Practitioner fails to comply with the terms of this stipulation or has
made misrepresentations to the Department. The Department reserves the right to seek
.reimbursement of its costs of investigation and attorney’s fees in any future efforts needed to obtain -
Practitioner’s cooperation and compliance with the terms of this stipulation.

2. The Stipulation and Consent Order shall not in any way or manner limit or affect the authority of
the Department to proceed against Practitioner by initiating a contested case hearing or by other
appropriate means on the basis of any act, conduct, or admission of the Practitioner, justifying
disciplinary action which occurred before or after the date of this stipulation and which is not directly

related to specific acts and circumstances set forth herein.

3. In the event the Division Director in his discretion does not approve this settlement or a lesser
remedy than specified herein, this Stipulation and Order shall be of no evidentiary value and shall not

be relied upon or used for any purpose by cither party. If this shouid occur and thereafter an
administrative contested case is initiated pursuant to Minn. Stat. Chapter 14, Practitioner agrees he
will assert no claim that the Division Director was precluded by his review and consideration of this

Stipulation or any records relating hereto,

4. This Stipulation contains the entire agreement between the parties, there being no other agreement
of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies this Stipulation.
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S, Practitien~r underslands that this agreement is sabject { s Division Director* s apptoval, If the
Livie.crn Ditestarceither 3pproves the Stipulation or makes changes aceeplabluto (e Proctiticeer, &3
Cirdee wiz) e 1ssezd by Uie Division Dimetor, upaa this Stiprlstion and Consent Onder wnd i het
evidtnes saude wuaililte 1o the Tivisioa Dirsstor.

0. Practitioncr expreasly waives the formal hearing and all other proceditres befors the Departmen!
of Health to which Practitioncr may b¢ ehtitied un@er tne MInneso1d or Ui e “iaies voussiinn i
statutes, or eules.

! 1. Excepi ag otherwise specified, this Stiputalion and Consent Order, investigativa teports, and
} rlated docusnents shall constitule the entlre record upon which this Order is based and shall be filed
with the Department. The Stipulation and Consent Osder is public data pucsyunt to the Minnesola
Govermnment Dala Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, Chepler 13 ("MGDPA"). All otber dula
cemprising the record shall not be considered a part of this Stipulation and Consent Order and shall
maintain the dato classifications to which they arc enlitled under the MGDPA.

8. A copy of the Stipulation and Consent Order when Issuod and signed by the Division Dircctor,
shall be served by first clasy mail on Practitioner's attorngy, Roger Justin, Rinke Noonan, P.C, Box
1497, St Cloud, MN 56302-1697. Service via first class raail shall be considered personal service
upot Practitioner, at which time thas Stipulution and Consent Order shall becomne cifective. Any
appropriate (edcral or stato count shalk, upan application of the Depacment, enter its decrve enforcing
the Order of the Department.

CONSENT: Practitioner herchy acknowledges that he has road, uoderstood, und agreed to this
i Stipulation and Consent Order and has freely and voluntarily signed il

i
; Dued: /82 2003 ﬂ&%@c—:__
: Tom Hiendimayr, Director

Health Cccupations Program
i Minnesota Department of Health

i Darted: ____ » 2003 Y, ‘ﬁﬁ&_
)Efomas Champon, Practitlafier

Upon consideration of this*stipuiabon aid ail e files, rocords end proceedings hercln by tho

Divisior Dircctor, IT IS HEREBY QORDERED th gkthr, terms of this stipulation are adopted and
irapiemented by the Division Director on this 30 &= aay of Tsmuy . 2003,

i STATE QF MINNRESQTA
DEPARTMINT OF ITTALTEH

. L] N
David J, Gicé. Thector
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2.0 widdgl l-n

a

L] ' wm—r em
AL (AR I 200 St AR Bl .




L"H} l24{98

BEFORE THE MINNESOTA
COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH
In the Matter of Thomas Champon, STIPULATION
Hearing Instrument Dispenser AND CONSENT ORDER

and Registered Audiologist

IT 1S HEREBY STIPULATED AND AGREED by Thomas Champon, (hereinafter
"Practitioner”), and the Minnesota Department of Health (hereinafter "Department"), and that
without trial or adjudication of any issue of fact or law herein:

1. Except as otherwise specified herein, this Stipulation and Order, investigative reports, and
related documents shall constitute the entire record herein upon which this Order is based and
shall be filed with the Department. The Stipulation and Order is public data pursuant to the
Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 13 ("MGDPA"). All
other data comprising the record shail not be considered a part of this Stipulation and Order and
shall maintain the data classifications to which they are entitled under the MGDPA. The
following shall constitute the factual basis for the Order:

a. On May 9, 1995, the Department approved Practitioner as an authorized hearing
instrument dispenser trainee. Practitioner’s trainee status expired on May 31, 1996;

b. In a letter dated May 3, 1996, the Department notified Practitioner that it had
approved Practitioner as a certified hearing instrument with an effective date of May 3, 1996 and
an expiration date of October 31, 1996. Practitioner maintained his authorization to dispense
hearing instruments by renewing his hearing instrument dispenser certificate during October

1996 and Qctober 1997;

c. On April 15, 1996, Practitioner sold hearing instruments to J.0. in the amount of
$969.00. Practitioner signed the consultant line of the purchase agreement using the protected
title "CFY-A". Practitioner was not a registered audiologist at the time the J.O. transaction

occurred;

d. On May 20, 1996, Practitioner placed an advertisement in a Mankato publication, The
Free Press, in which Practitioner used the protected title "MS, CFY-Audiologist”". Practitioner
was not a registered audiologist at the time this advertisement was published;

e. On August 23, 1996, Practitioner placed an advertisement in the Sentinel Medical
Directory in which Practitioner used the protected title "CFY-A". Practitioner was not a
registered audiologist at the time this advertisement was published;




f. In a letter dated October 10, 1997, the Department notified Practitioner that it had
approved Practitioner's registration as an audiologist with an effective date of October 10, 1997
and an expiration date of January 31, 1998. Practitioner renewed his registration during January
1998. The Department issued a new effective date of February 1, 1998 and an expiration date of

January 31, 1999 for Practitioner’s registration;

2. Practitioner admits and acknowledges that, for purposes of this Stipulation and Consent Order
and any future disciplinary proceedings, proof at hearing that Practitioner engaged in false or
misleading advertising or engaged in protected title infringement, as referenced in paragraph

one, would constitute a violation of Minn. Stat. § 153A.15, subd. 1(5) and Minn. Stat. § 148.513
and would justify enforcement action by the Commissioner against Practitioner under Minn.
Stat. § [53A.15, subd. 2 and Minn. Stat. § 148.5195, subd. 3(4);

3. Practitioner expressly waives the formal hearing and all other procedures before the
Commissioner of Health to which Practitioner may be entitled under the Minnesota or United

States constitutions, statutes, or rules;

4. Upon this Stipulation record, as set forth in paragraph 1 above, and without any further notice
of proceedings, the Commissioner hereby ORDERS:

a. Practitioner shall pay a civil penalty, in the amount of $_127.46, as authorized by
Minnesota Statutes section 153A.15, subd. 2(4) for reimbursement of the Department’s costs for
investigating the matter described in paragraph 1. Within 30 days of the effective date of the
Stipulation, Practitioner shall remit $ 127.46 by check or money order, payable to “State of
Minnesota, Treasurer”, and mailed to the attention of: Legal Analyst, Minnesota Department of
Health, Health QOccupations Program, 121 East Seventh Place, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN

55164-0975;

5. This Stipulation and Consent Order shall not in any way or manner limit or affect the
authority of the Commissioner to proceed against Practitioner by initiating a contested case
hearing or by other appropriate means on the basis of any act, conduct, or admission of the
Practitioner, justifying disciplinary action which occurred before or after the date of this
stipulation and which is not directly refated to specific acts and circumstances set forth herein;

6. If the Department receives evidence that Practitioner has made a misrepresentation to the
Department or a client, or has engaged in acts or omissions that would constitute a violation of
Minn, Stat. ch. 153A, the Department shall notify Practitioner in writing at the last known
address filed with the Department. Practitioner shall have the opportunity to explain the alleged
violation or misrepresentation. If Practitioner fails to submit an explanation within 30 days of
the Department's notice or if the explanation is unsatisfactory, the Commissioner may suspend

Practitioner’s certification;

7. In the event the Commissioner in her discretion does not approve this settlement or a lesser
remedy than specified herein, this Stipulation and Order shall be of no evidentiary value and
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shall not be relied upon or used for any purpose by either party. If this should occur and
thereafter an administrative contested case is initiated pursuant to Minn. Stat. ch. 14 and Minn.
Stat. § 153A.15, Practitioner agrees he will assert no claim that the Commissioner was precluded

by her review and consideration of this Stipulation or any records relating hereto;

8. This Stipulation contains the entire agreement between the parties, there being no other
agreement of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies this Stipulation. Practitioner
understands that this agreement is subject to the Commissioner’s approval. If the Commissioner
either approves the Stipulation or makes changes acceptable to the Practitioner, an Order will be
issued by the Commissioner; upon this Stipulation and Consent Order and all other evidence
made available to the Commissioner, once the Commissioner has approved it, the Commissioner

may issue the Stipulation and Consent Order to Practitioner at any time without further notice;
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9. A copy of the Stipulation and Consent Order when issued by the Commissioner, shall be
served by first class mail on Practitioner, at Practitioner’s last known address. Service via first
class mail shall be considered parsonal service upon Practitioner, at which time this Stipulation
and Consent Order shall become effective. Any appropriate federal or state court shall, upon
application of the Commissioner, enter its decree enforcing the Order of the Commissioner;

CONSENT:

Practitioner hereby acknowledges that he has read, understoed, and agreed to this Stipulation and
Consent Order and has freely and voluntarily signed it.

Dated: /=3 1998 _ /e

Omas Champon, Practifioner

Dated: é / 9 , 1998 e = Lo

/ usan Winkelmann
Investigations and Enforcement Supervisor
Health Occupations Program

Upon consideration of this stipulation and all the files, records and proceedings herein by the

Commissioner, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED th@{&iterms is stipulation are adopted and
implemented by the Commissioner on thi day o , 1998.
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