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Renewal Application for a License to Operate a 
Hospice Provider 
In accordance with Minnesota Statutes, Section 13.41, all data submitted on this renewal license application 
shall be classified public information upon issuance of a license.  

Answer all questions completely and accurately to avoid unnecessary delay. All renewal license applications 
shall be filed 30 days prior to the expiration date of the current license with: 

Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Regulation Division 
Federal Licensing, Certification & Registration Program 
PO Box 64900 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0900 

The undersigned hereby renews an application to operate a hospice provider subject to the provision of 
Minnesota Statutes, Section 144A.75 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.75), 144A.751-756 and 
the rules adopted thereunder.  

Facility Identification 
1. Hospice Name (doing business as):   

Street:   

City/State/Zip:   

 Check here if mailing address is the same as above 

Complete if different:   

2. Health Facility Identification Number (HFID):   

3. Telephone Number:   

Fax Number:   

 Check here if new telephone or fax number 

4. Hours of Operation 

Office hours:   

 Check to verify 24/7 hospice care coverage is provided 

5. Name of county in which hospice is located:    

6. Agent/Administrator’s Name:   

 Direct Email Address:   

 Direct Phone Number:   

7. Name of person responsible for completing this application:   

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.75
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8. Email to receive correspondences from MDH:   

9. Are you currently a Medicare certified hospice? 

 Yes, insert Medicare number:   

 No 

10. If you are not Medicare certified, do you plan to become certified within the next 12 months? 

 Yes 

 No 

Residential Hospice 
1. Are you licensed as a residential hospice? 

 Yes 

 No 

2. If yes, complete the following: 

Residential Hospice Name:   

Address:   

City/Zip:   

Health Facility Identification Number (HFID):   

Number of licensed residential hospice beds:    

Ownership 
1. Fill in the code that corresponds to the type of entity legally responsible for operating the hospice. 

Ownership Code:   

Governmental  
Non-Federal 

Governmental 
Non-Profit 

Non-Governmental  
For-Profit Other 

11. State 
12. County 
13. City 
14. City – County 
15. Hospital district of 
Authority 

20. Church-related 
21. Nonprofit Corporation 
22.Other Nonprofit Ownership 

23. Individual 
24. Partnership 
25. Corporation 
26. Group 
28. Limited Liability Company 
29. Business Trust 
30. Housing and Redevelopment 
Employment 

27. Tribal 

2. Provide the legal entity name that is responsible for the operation of this facility, as it appears on file with 
the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State:   

3. Federal EIN #:   

4. State Tax ID #:   
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5. President/Owner Representative:   

6. Name of Medical Director:                                                                       License #:   

7. Name and license number of Clinical Nurse Supervisor (Registered Nurse) 

Name:   

License #:   

8. List address and telephone number of other approved office locations.   

MN Rule 4664.0010, Subpart 2 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0010/) states that multiple units or 
satellites of a hospice provider must share the same management that supervises and administers services 
provided by all units. Each unit and satellite must provide the same full range of services that is required of 
the hospice provider. Multiple units or satellites of a hospice provider must be separately licensed if the 
commissioner determines that the units cannot adequately share supervision and administration of services 
with the main office because of distinct organizational structures. 

Approved Office Locations 

Address City/State/Zip Phone Number 

   

Services Offered 
Please fill out the Code column in the chart below to indicate how services are provided: 

1. Hospice service is provided directly by employees of the licensee. 

2. Hospice service is provided by contracting with another provider for services. 

3. Hospice services will be provided both directly and by contract. 

Required services are marked by an asterisk (*). Two of these services must be regularly provided by hospice 
employees. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0010/
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Code Service Code Service 

  Physician Services *   

Counseling * (indicate code to the applicable service) 
• Bereavement: ___________ 
• Nutritional: ________________ 
• Spiritual/Pastoral: _______________ 
• Other: _________________ 

  Registered Nursing Services *   Volunteer Services 

  Licensed Practical Nursing   Medical Supplies & Equipment 

  Respiratory Therapy   Home Health Aide Services 

  Physical Therapy   Short-term Inpatient Care Services 

  Occupational Therapy   Medical Social Services * 

  Speech Therapy    Other: 

1. Do you contract for hospice services with a business that is not subject to licensure under this chapter, MN 
Rule 4664.0008, Subpart 2 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0008/)?  

 Yes 

 No 

2. If yes, does your contract comply with MN Rule 4664 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664/) and 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 144A.75 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.75) to 144A.755? 

 Yes 

 No 

Short-term Inpatient Care 
List the name and address of any hospitals, nursing homes or residential hospitals that this hospice contracts 
with for short-term inpatient care. Refer to MN Rule 4664.0090, Subpart 3 
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0090/). 

Name Address City/Zip Type of License 

 
 

 

 

 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0008/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0008/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.75
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0090/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0090/
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Employee Information 
1. Do you have a system in place for performing criminal background checks for all individuals who have 

direct contact with patients in their homes or in the community, including licensee, managerial officials, 
supervisors, direct care givers and volunteers in accordance with MN Statute 144.057 
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.057)? 

 Yes 

 No 

2. Has every individual who provides direct care, supervision of direct care of management services including 
the licensee, been oriented to hospice requirements as defined in MN Rule 4664.0140, Subpart 1 
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0140/)? 

 Yes 

 No 

3. Have all personnel (including volunteers), who require direct contact with patients, met tuberculosis 
screening requirements consistent with MN Statute 144A.753, Subdivision 4 
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.753)? 

 Yes 

 No 

4. Do you meet the training and competency evaluations for individuals performing home health aide tasks? 

 Yes 

 No 

MN Rule 4664.0260, Subpart 6 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0260/#rule.4664.0260.6) states a 
hospice provider must ensure that persons who perform home health aide services: successfully complete 
75 hours of training, as described in subpart 7, and a competency evaluation, as described in subpart 8; or 
successfully complete a competency evaluation, as described in subpart 8. 

Information and Referral Services Hospice Licenses 
MN Rule 4664.0310 states the following information be provided by the hospice licensee: 

1. Name the counties served:   

  

  

Note: Adding counties must be approved by MDH. Please contact Health.HRD-FedLCR@state.mn.us. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.057
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.057
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0140/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0140/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.753
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.753
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0260/#rule.4664.0260.6
mailto:Health.HRD-FedLCR@state.mn.us
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2. Current source of hospice income: 

 Alternative Care Grants 

 Private Pay 

 HMO 

 Sliding Fee Social Services  

 Medical Assistance 

 Title XX 

 Medicare 

 Veterans Administrator 

 Insurance 

 Donations 

 Title III 

 Other:   

3. Have you submitted the Measures of Excellence Survey (https://www.nhpco.org/regulatory-and-
quality/quality/nhpco-performance-measures/moe/) and submitted the survey to the National Hospice 
and Palliative Care Organization? 

 Yes 

 No 

Ownership Information Sheet 
Please provide the legal names, titles and addresses of all officers, directors, owners, and managerial 
employees, and the percent of ownership if applicable. If you need more space, you can attach a separate 
sheet with the information requested below for each person.  

Name  
Title  

(President, Director, 
Partner, Stockholder, Etc.) 

Address  
(Street, City, State, Zip Code) 

Percentage Of 
Ownership  

(If For Profit) 

        

        

        

        

        

    

    

    

    

https://www.nhpco.org/regulatory-and-quality/quality/nhpco-performance-measures/moe/
https://www.nhpco.org/regulatory-and-quality/quality/nhpco-performance-measures/moe/
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Evidence of Compliance with Workers’ Compensation Coverage Provisions 
State law requires that the Commissioner of Health shall withhold the license for the operation of a health 
care provider until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with workers’ compensation 
coverage provisions. 

One of the following documents must accompany this application. Please check which document is attached.  

 Certificate of Insurance supplied by an authorized Workers’ Compensation carrier pursuant to Minn. 
Statute 60A.06, Subd. 1(5b) (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/60A.06). The Certificate should 
include the name of the licensee, the name of the corporation legally responsible for the licensee, or the 
name that the licensee is doing business as. The Certificate of Insurance must be in effect prior to the 
issuance of an initial license or have an effective date on or after the effective date of renewal license. 

 Self-insured workers’ compensation (including its Attachment “A”). This type of coverage is generally 
held by large organizations. The certificate is issued from the commissioner of commerce permitting an 
organization to self-insure pursuant to Minn. Stat. 79A (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/79A) 
and Minn. Rules 2780 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/2780/). Questions regarding self-insurance 
should be directed to the Minnesota Department of Commerce. 

 Written confirmation from your Third-Party Administrator or evidence of coverage from the Workers’ 
Compensation Reinsurance Association (WCRA) allowing you to self-insure as a Government 
Entity/Political Subdivision pursuant to Minn. Statute 176.181, Subd. 2 
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.181). The Reinsurance Certificate must be renewed 
annually on a calendar year basis. 

You cannot be issued a license and may not operate as a health care provider unless acceptable evidence of 
compliance with workers’ compensation coverage provisions is provided. 

Revenues 
Revenues are defined in MN Rule 4664.0010, Subpart 8 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0010/) 

Provide the total revenue for the previous fiscal year: 

 Beginning date (mm/dd/yyyy):     

 End date (mm/dd/yyyy):    

 Amount: $   

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/60A.06
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/60A.06
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/79A
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/79A
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/2780/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.181
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.181
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4664.0010/
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Fees 
All applications must be accompanied by the appropriate fee based on the following fee schedule set by MN 
Statutes 144A.753, Subd. 1 (c) (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.753).  

Revenues License Fee 

For revenues no more than $25,000 $125.00 

For revenues greater than $25,000 and no more than $100,000 $312.50 

For revenues greater than $100,000 and no more than $250,000 $625.00 

For revenues greater than $250,000 and no more than $350,000 $937.50 

For revenues greater than $350,000 and no more than $450,000 $1,250.00 

For revenues greater than $450,000 and no more than $550,000 $1,562.50 

For revenues greater than $550,000 and no more than $650,000 $1,875.00 

For revenues greater than $650,000 and no more than $750,000 $2,187.50 

For revenues greater than $750,000 and no more than $850,000 $2,500.00 

For revenues greater than $850,000 and no more than $950,000 $2,812.50 

For revenues greater than $950,000 and no more than $1,100,000 $3,125.00 

For revenues greater than $1,100,000 and no more than $1,275,000 $3,750.00 

For revenues greater than $1,275,000 and no more than $1,500,000 $4,375.00 

For revenues greater than $1,500,000 $5,000.00 

Affirmation and License Fee 
 To the best of my knowledge, I certify that the information provided on this form is accurate and 

complete.  
 I have enclosed the appropriate evidence of compliance with Workers’ Compensation Coverage Provisions. 
 Enclosed is the renewal licensee fee made payable to the Minnesota Department of Health. 

Signature of Authorized Representative:   

Name (please print or type):   

Title:   

Date:   

If you have questions concerning this license application, please email Health.HRD-FedLCR@state.mn.us or call 
651-201-4200. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.753
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144A.753
mailto:Health.HRD-FedLCR@state.mn.us
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Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Regulation Division 
P.O. Box 64900 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0900    
651-201-4200 
Health.HRD-FedLCR@state.mn.us  

02/09/2023 

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4200. 

mailto:Health.HRD-FedLCR@state.mn.us
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