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Application for a License to Operate a Freestanding 
Outpatient Surgical Center 
In accordance with Minnesota Statutes, Section 13.41 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/13.41), all 
data submitted on this license application shall be classified public information upon issuance of a license. 

Answer all questions completely and accurately to avoid unnecessary delay. Mail the completed application, 
fee payment, and applicable supporting documents to MDH (see last page for mailing address). Renewal 
license applications should be submitted 30 days prior to the expiration date of the current license. 

Incomplete application will be communicated to the provider via email. 

The undersigned hereby makes application to operate a Freestanding Outpatient Surgical Center subject to 
the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 144.55 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.55), and the rules 
adopted thereunder.        

Application Type 
Check one option (see Appendix A for documents to attach) 

 Initial License 

 Change of Ownership. Proposed effective date:   

 License Renewal 

Facility Identification 
Outpatient Surgical Name (doing business as):   

Address:   

City/State/Zip:   

 Check here if mailing address is the same as above. 

Complete if different:   

Health Facility Identification (HFID) number:   

Telephone number:   

Fax number (if applicable):   

 Check here if new telephone and/or fax number. 

Business hours (days & times):   

Name of county in which the surgical center is located:    

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/13.41
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.55
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Agent/Administrator’s Name:  

  

 Direct Email Address:   

 Direct Phone Number:   

Name and title of person in charge in the absence of the Administrator:   

Name of person responsible for completing application:   

Email to receive correspondences from MDH:   

 Check here if email is the same as the Administrator. 

Are you currently a Medicare certified Ambulatory Surgical Center? 

 Yes, insert CMS Certification Number (CCN):   

 No 

If you are not Medicare certified, do you plan to become certified within the next 12 months? 

 Yes 

 No 

Personnel 
Provide the following information.  

(MN Rule 4675.040 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4675.0400/) 

Physician Services – Name of Medical Director as it appears with the MN Board of Medical Practice, Credential 
Search (https://bmp.hlb.state.mn.us/#/onlineEntitySearch). 

Name:   

License #:   

Expiration date:   

Number of Physicians:   

Number of Physician Assistants:   

Number of Dentists:   

Anesthesia Services 

Name Director:   

License #:   

Expiration date:   

Number of Anesthesiologists:   

https://bmp.hlb.state.mn.us/#/onlineEntitySearch
https://bmp.hlb.state.mn.us/#/onlineEntitySearch
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Nursing Services – Name and license number of Clinical Nurse Supervisor (registered nurse) as it appears with 
the MN Board of Nursing, Find a Licensee (https://mbn.hlb.state.mn.us/#/services/onlineEntitySearch). 

Name:   

License #:   

Expiration date:   

Number of employees in the following categories. 

Registered Nurses:   

Licensed Practical Nurses:   

Nursing Assistants:   

Operating Room Assistants:   

Ownership 
Fill in the code that corresponds to the type of entity legally responsible for operating the facility.   

Ownership Code  

Governmental  
Non-Federal 

Governmental 
Non-Profit 

Non-Governmental  
For-Profit Other 

11. State 
12. County 
13. City 
14. City – County 
15. Hospital district of 
Authority 

20. Church-related 
21. Nonprofit Corporation 
22.Other Nonprofit Ownership 

23. Individual 
24. Partnership 
25. Corporation 
26. Group 
28. Limited Liability Company 
29. Business Trust 
30. Housing and Redevelopment 
Employment 

27. Tribal 

Provide the legal entity name that is responsible for the operation of this facility, as it appears on file with the 
Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State (https://mblsportal.sos.state.mn.us/Business/Search): 

   

Federal EIN #:    

State Tax ID #:    

President/Owner Representative: 

▪ Address:   

▪ City/State/Zip:   

https://mbn.hlb.state.mn.us/#/services/onlineEntitySearch
https://mblsportal.sos.state.mn.us/Business/Search
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Ownership Information Sheet 
Provide the legal names, titles and addresses of all officers, directors, owners, and managerial employees, and 
the percent of ownership if applicable. For additional space, use Appendix B. 

Name  
Title  

(President, Director, Partner, 
Stockholder, Etc.) 

Address  
(Street, City, State, Zip Code) 

Percentage Of 
Ownership  
(If For Profit) 

        

        

        

        

        

    

    

    

Utilization Data 
Provide utilization data for July 1 (previous year) through June 30 (current year). 

MN Rule 4675.0400, clause F (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4675.0400/#rule.4675.0400.F) 

Beginning date (mm/dd/yyyy):    

End date (mm/dd/yyyy):   

Number of surgical procedures:   

List five (5) most common operations performed: 

  

  

  

  

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4675.0400/#rule.4675.0400.F
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4675.0400/#rule.4675.0400.F
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Written Agreements 
Name of emergency transfer hospital:    

Name of emergency ambulance service:   

Evidence of Compliance with Worker’s Compensation 
State law requires that the Commissioner of Health shall withhold the license for the operation of a health 
care provider until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with workers’ compensation 
coverage provisions. 

One of the following documents must accompany this application. Please check which document is attached.  

 Certificate of Insurance supplied by an authorized Workers’ Compensation carrier pursuant to Minn. 
Statute 60A.06, Subd. 1(5b) (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/60A.06). The Certificate should 
include the name of the licensee, the name of the corporation legally responsible for the licensee, or the 
name that the licensee is doing business as. The Certificate of Insurance must be in effect prior to the 
issuance of an initial license or have an effective date on or after the effective date of renewal license. 

 Self-insured workers’ compensation (including its Attachment “A”). This type of coverage is generally 
held by large organizations. The certificate is issued from the commissioner of commerce permitting an 
organization to self-insure pursuant to Minn. Stat. 79A (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/79A) 
and Minn. Rules 2780 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/2780/). Questions regarding self-insurance 
should be directed to the Minnesota Department of Commerce. 

 Written confirmation from your Third-Party Administrator or evidence of coverage from the Workers’ 
Compensation Reinsurance Association (WCRA) allowing you to self-insure as a Government 
Entity/Political Subdivision pursuant to Minn. Statute 176.181, Subd. 2 
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.181). The Reinsurance Certificate must be renewed 
annually on a calendar year basis. 

You cannot be issued a license and may not operate as a health care provider unless acceptable evidence of 
compliance with workers’ compensation coverage provisions is provided. 

Fees 
All applications must be accompanied by the appropriate nonrefundable fee based on the following fee 
schedule set by Minnesota Statute 144.122, clause (d) (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.122).  

The Outpatient Surgical Center fee: $3,712.00  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/60A.06
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/60A.06
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/79A
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/79A
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/2780/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.181
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.181
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.122
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Affirmation and License Fee 
 I certify that the information provided on this form is accurate and complete. 

 I have enclosed the appropriate evidence of compliance with Workers’ Compensation Coverage Provisions. 

 Enclosed is the renewal licensee fee made payable to the Minnesota Department of Health. 

In accordance with MN Statute 144.52 Application (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.52), the 
law requires that an application on behalf of a corporation, association or governmental unit shall be made 
by any two officers thereof or by its managing agents. This requires two (2) signatures. All other applications 
require one (1) signature.  

Signature of Authorized Representative:   

Name (print or type):   

Title:   

Date:   

Signature of Authorized Representative:   

Name (print or type):   

Title:   

Date:   

If you have questions concerning this license application, please email Health.HRD-FedLCR@state.mn.us or call 
651-201-4200. 

Mailing Address 
Minnesota Department of Health 
Health Regulation Division 
P.O. Box 64900 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0900 

10/02/2023 

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4200. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.52
mailto:Health.HRD-FedLCR@state.mn.us
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Appendix A: Application Type  
Submit the following documents based on the application type. 

Initial License 
Required documents for an initial license include: 

 Evidence of Workers’ Compensation: See the Example Form: Certificate of Liability 
(https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/docs/exampleinsurance.pdf) for an example of how 
to fill out this form. 

 Organizational chart demonstrating relationship of owners to licensee. 

Renewal 
Required documents for license renewal include: 

 Evidence of Workers’ Compensation: See the Example Form: Certificate of Liability 
(https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/docs/exampleinsurance.pdf) for an example of how 
to fill out this form. 

Change of Ownership 
Required documents for change of ownership include: 

 Evidence of Workers’ Compensation: See the Example Form: Certificate of Liability 
(https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/docs/exampleinsurance.pdf) for an example of how 
to fill out this form. 

 Organizational charts demonstrating relationship of owners to licensee, both pre-sale and post-sale. 

 Bill of Sale 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/docs/exampleinsurance.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/docs/exampleinsurance.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/docs/exampleinsurance.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/docs/exampleinsurance.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/docs/exampleinsurance.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/regulation/docs/exampleinsurance.pdf
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Appendix B: Ownership Information Sheet 
Provide the legal names, titles and addresses of all officers, directors, owners, and managerial employees, and 
the percent of ownership if applicable. 

Name  
Title  

(President, Director, Partner, 
Stockholder, Etc.) 

Address  
(Street, City, State, Zip Code) 

Percentage Of 
Ownership  
(If For Profit) 
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