

## **Illness Reporting for Food Establishments**

MINNESOTA FOODBORNE ILLNESS HOTLINE 1-877-FOOD ILL

### **PIC responsibilities**

The person in charge (PIC) must exclude all ill employees from the establishment while they have:

- Diarrhea
- Vomiting

Employees with diarrhea or vomiting cannot return to work for at least 24 hours after symptoms end.

Record all employee reports of diarrhea and vomiting including onset date in an Employee Illness Log (PDF).

The PIC must notify your local health department or MDH of any employee diagnosed with any of these illnesses:

- Norovirus
- Salmonella
- Shigella
- Hepatitis A virus
- Shiga toxin-producing E. coli
- Infection with another bacterial, viral or parasitic pathogen

Exclusions and restrictions may apply if an employee has been diagnosed with any of the illness listed above.

# Earned Sick and Safe Time law (ESST)

The ESST law allows for disclosure of information given by an employee when it is required by state law. The food code requirement for disclosure of illness symptoms by employees is a state law and

reporting illness symptoms under the food code is not a violation of the ESST.

### **Employee responsibilities**

Some illnesses can be transmitted through food from employees to customers.

Therefore, employees cannot work if they have:

- Diarrhea
- Vomiting

Employees with diarrhea or vomiting cannot return to work for at least 24 hours after symptoms end.

Employees must report to the PIC if they have any of the following symptoms:

- Diarrhea
- Vomiting
- Jaundice (yellowing of skin or whites of eyes)
- Sore throat with fever
- Open, infected wound

Employees must report to the PIC if they have any of the following infections:

- Norovirus
- Salmonella
- Shiqella
- Hepatitis A virus
- Shiga toxin—producing E. coli
- Infection with another enteric bacteria, viral or parasitic pathogen

Employees must report to the PIC if they have been exposed to, or are a suspected source of a disease outbreak in the last 30 days.

## Report customer illness complaints

The PIC is required to notify your local health department or MDH of complaints from a customer who:

 Reports becoming ill with diarrhea or vomiting after eating at the establishment.

#### OR

Reports having or is suspected of having norovirus, hepatitis A virus, Salmonella, Shigella, Shiga toxinproducing E. coli, or another enteric bacterial, viral or parasitic pathogen after eating at the establishment.

Customer complaints may also be reported directly to the MDH Foodborne Illness Hotline toll free at 1-877-366-3455 or fill out the online Minnesota Foodborne & Waterborne Illness Report.



### Resources

Minnesota Department of Health Food
Business Safety
(www.health.state.mn.us/foodbizsafety)

Employee Illness Log (PDF)
(www.health.state.mn.us/people/foodsafet
y/dwi/empillog.pdf)

Minnesota Foodborne & Waterborne Illness Report (www.health.state.mn.us/foodill)

<u>Use of Earned Sick and Safe Time -</u>
<u>Minnesota Statutes 181.9447, subd. 11</u>
(https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/
181.9447)

Minnesota Department of Health Food, Pools, and Lodging Services PO Box 64975 St. Paul, MN 55164-0975 651-201-4500 health.foodlodging@state.mn.us www.health.state.mn.us

Minnesota Department of Agriculture Food and Feed Safety Division 625 Robert Street N St. Paul, MN 55155-2538 651-201-6027 MDA.FFSD.Info@state.mn.us www.mda.state.mn.us

#### **JUNE 2024**

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-4500 or 651-201-6000. Printed on recycled paper.